The Student Room Group

Music to Medicine

Hi guys, was wondering if anyone on here could give me a bit of advice.

I am a recent music graduate (July of this year) who has had a change of heart. Although it may seem like a pretty significant change in direction, I am now seriously considering applying to study medicine in the next few years, an idea which I have been toying with for some time.

I am confident of my commitment to helping others (I am politically engaged, and the one thing preventing me from making an absolute decision on medicine at this point is my interest in international development and the possibility of working in foreign aid/international NGOs), my questions are regarding how best to prepare myself for application to medical schools given my academic background.

Just a brief overview to help you guys out:

First class degree in Music from Leeds College of Music (More prestigious than it sounds! Haha. Course split 50/50 between performance and academia, believe that I could obtain very positive references from my lecturers regarding my academic potential as I received an award for my dissertation).

A Levels:
A/B/B/a (English Lit/History/Music/Biology A at AS level, dropped it before A2)

GCSEs:
3 A* (two of which were for double award science) 3As, 2 Bs, 1 C.

I am currently working as a HCA (been on an orthopaedic trauma ward for about two months) and really enjoying it. Being in a hospital environment encouraged my interest in medicine again after I had previously tried to dismiss the idea as unrealistic.