Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Suitability for University and worries about applying before viewing?? Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hello people, I am currently in my last year of college studying for a BTEC N.D. In Interactive Media. A lot of my course modules put emphasis on Graphics Design, Animation, typography and Image Manipulation. However I wish to go into Advertising design which I suppose one might say anything graphically would qualify for this? I am really wanting to prepare myself for my application for University (upcoming Academic year 2011). I will elaborate further on my problem....

Basically to get more to my point, I am wanting to go to University, to study Advertising design. Because I am passionate about selling 'ideas' but more the creative side of things. However several doubts stand in my way. One problem is that, although I think I will get Merits and/or Distinctions in my National Dip, I have poor GCSE results, I have taken my English again and I am awaiting my result, which is due in January. I think that this may affect my eligibility for University.

My problem also lies in the fact that because I want to do Advertising, I am unsure as to whether or not it lies within the boundaries of a degree in Graphics Design (generally) or in other sectors like 'Visual Communication'.

I did in fact go to the a Manchester 'higher education' Universities Fair for 'design' earlier this week. Where several universities were giving advice and information on degree courses. However I never really asked too many questions because I was naive about what 'Advertising' fell under. And so, I kept quiet and just took the Prospectuses. Upon taking them home I basically looked at all degree courses I liked (of which didn't mention GCSE results as Entry requirements). Because I was conscious at the fact that the entry requirements differed in some Universities.