Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi all,

I am currently a masters student who has started working on a thesis. I've been asked by my supervisor to research specific aspects to get the ball rolling. Therefore I've been putting a lot of time and energy into forming connections between ideas (as most research students do!). Basically I have a question regarding sharing work with another student who has the same supervisor as me.... is it appropriate to send what I have researched to her? She will be covering quite similar themes for her study and has asked if I would be willing to do this.

Is this something I should ask my supervisor about? I don't really know what is appropriate to share and what isn't. I haven't quite gauged whether sharing a supervisor means it's appropriate to share ideas in this way.

Can anyone advise me further?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by PerigeeApogee)
    It's always good to bounce ideas off of students who are doing something similar or related to your own work - but it depends how closely related the work is.

If you and this other student are submitting a thesis on very closely related works to the same lecturer, then sharing ideas and leads might make your theses prone to what looks like plagiarism.

In any case, I wouldn't recommend e-mailing your research to her. It would be better to speak in person, and just have an informal discussion about what you've been up to generally, where your research is taking you and what you expect to do next. Then she can come in with suggestions, etc, and vice versa.

In any case, speak with your supervisor and ask their advice on the matter.