Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Its funny how today, students are told at school...you must get top GCSEs,top A-levels etc to get into Uni, then at Uni your told - you must get at least a 2:1 etc to get a good job. I worked damn hard to get top A-levels, get a 2:1 and even did a masters degree in Accounting and Finance, and would you believe it, got the top mark on my course.

I now find myself working as a trainee tax accountant,..about to start ACA, and am wondering whether I should have taken that opportunity to do a PhD or not.

Is it that i am struggling in the transition to the real working world ( aka the office)?, that I dont like all the boring admin that im being made to do at work...I am a first year trainee after all...but I could have done this stuff at 18....let alone after a masters degree. Or is it that I am a true academic, and that thats where my strenghts lie.

Its funny how you think studying hard is the solution to getting you that job.....but how you can get lost on the way............

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by mr-know-it-all)
    Its funny how today, students are told at school...you must get top GCSEs,top A-levels etc to get into Uni, then at Uni your told - you must get at least a 2:1 etc to get a good job. I worked damn hard to get top A-levels, get a 2:1 and even did a masters degree in Accounting and Finance, and would you believe it, got the top mark on my course.

I now find myself working as a trainee tax accountant,..about to start ACA, and am wondering whether I should have taken that opportunity to do a PhD or not.

Is it that i am struggling in the transition to the real working world ( aka the office)?, that I dont like all the boring admin that im being made to do at work...I am a first year trainee after all...but I could have done this stuff at 18....let alone after a masters degree. Or is it that I am a true academic, and that thats where my strenghts lie.