Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hey all
    I have an essay question title which requires me to discuss, 'yay'.

At A-Level I was always told to stay away from asking questions within the essay. But to introduce my areas of discussion, I want to ask 'mini' questions in order to answer the question itself.

I am a first year student and this is for an essay question in public law.

Any advice?!

ReputationRep:
    This is really a style thing, so ultimately it's up to you, it's quite nice to experiment with your own written style as you settle in to university (though if it's an assessed essay which counts towards your grade then definitely ask your course tutor for advice). However, personally I feel that direct questions in the text of the essay can seem a little artificial. So instead I'd suggest putting it as an indirect question, for example: I will be examining whether X is currently a strong factor in judicial review, and whether it would be appropriate to change the law so that more weight was placed on it. Something like that. You could maybe use the direct questions as sub-headings in the essay - that might work quite well.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by haaaza23)
    Hey all
    I have an essay question title which requires me to discuss, 'yay'.

At A-Level I was always told to stay away from asking questions within the essay. But to introduce my areas of discussion, I want to ask 'mini' questions in order to answer the question itself.

I am a first year student and this is for an essay question in public law.

Any advice?!
    I think most academics would lynch you for putting some questions in - as long as you answer them

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Riggers)
    I think most academics would lynch you for putting some questions in - as long as you answer them