Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Dropping out of uni and reapplying to a different one next year- help needed Watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Hey there, i hope i'm writing this in the right thread as i have a variety of questions on different topics here.

I am currently a first year student studying Event Management at Coventry University, however i am not happy with my course as it was not how i expected it to be and i'm quite dissapointed in it. I'm looking at dropping out and then reapplying to do Hospitality Management next september preferably at Thames Valley.

What are the steps i need to make in order to get this running? Do i contact my course tutor letting him know what i want to do? And do i need to contact UCAS about making a new application which involves new references and personal statements- basically starting from scratch? Is it worth talking to student support at my university also?

A notable mistake i have also made is that the deadline for actually dropping out and the tuition fee taken out of student finance was November 30th, however it is past that now. Is there a chance to get this refunded or have i created debt for myself and they expect it back when i drop out even though i'm reapplying for next year?

Also i am in student accomodation, does anyone know how long they will give me to pack up and leave after i decide i want to leave? The amount of rent i have already paid from my maintenece loan covers me up until christmas, so would they allow me to stay until then and make arrangements for all my things to get collected?

I understand i've not put myself in an ideal situation by dropping out and making the decision to do a different course at a different uni next year but i am very sure that this is what i want to do and any advice on how to get the ball rolling would be excellent.

ReputationRep: