Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I thought I would come here to ask for advice on what kind of career to pursue. I graduated 2 and a half months ago and at the time, I was intending to get onto a archive assistant traineeship and apply for UCL's course on Archives & Records Management for next year. Unfortunately, I did not get any of the traineeships I applied for and have found it hard to get volunteer experience in an archive (I need about a year's worth of paid or unpaid work in the field before I start the course). i have managed to gain about 4 months worth of experience volunteering in various archives over the past couple of years and mostly did cataloguing, conservation and creating audits of archive holdings. With all this in mind, I'm looking at other options.

I studied History at Goldsmiths and got a 2:2. In terms of skills that I can offer, I feel that my greatest strengths include writing fluidly and effectively, working with written information, researching information, maintaining records, checking detail and following or creating procedures, writing reports, presenting an argument and arguing a case. I am also able to learn new information easily and learn how to use new technology quickly.

I took the surveys offered by Next Step last week and one of the suggestions that it came back with was paralegal. Looking at the profile for it, it seems that most of my strengths are among the skills required for the job and therefore it might well be a good choice to go for. I can apparently join a law firm in admin role and study for paralegal qualifications while working.

What I'd like to ask people on here is this: do I stand a decent chance of getting into this profession with the skills and experience that I currently have and is it therefore worth trying? I would also like to ask if anyone can suggest any other careers that they think would be suited to me judging by what I have said in this post.