Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Just wondering if anyone else is taking this exam in January! Am in need of a bit of help with Frankenstein at the moment; I'm a resit applicant and am trying to teach myself this novel, so any help appreciated! If anyone is studying/has studied this, are you willing to share notes/websites? Anything regarding the story/characters/themes/context? I feel so unprepared

ReputationRep:
    Anyone?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Bernii-xo)
    Hey! I'm a resit applicant aswell and I'm taking the AQA English Literature exam in January too! I'm reading Frankenstein atm, I've nearly finished it and its so interesting. I never properly read any of the books last year, hence why I'm re-sitting lol...

Are you reading Wuthering Heights and Dr Faustus too? And its the theme 'Elements of the Gothic'?

As for themes, story, characters and context, I'm still learning about context, but I'll sum up Frankenstein as its fresh in my memory! (if you can help me at all with Wuthering Heights?) lol btw the AS eng lit exam - did you study The Great Gatsby, The Kite Runner and/or 2 poems? and what grade did you get in that exam? I'm resitting my AS english lit exam in January aswell :| but I've read The Great Gatsby and its really good

* In Frankenstein, Victor Frankenstein is the creator of the monster. 'Frankenstein' is usually mistaken for the monster, when in fact, Frankenstein is the creator and the monster is simply referred to as 'The Monster'.

Anyway, 'Frankenstein' begins with the primary narrator; Robert Walton (Victor's friend), who, in his letters, quotes Victor Frankenstein’s first-person narrative at length. The novel begins with 4 letters from Robert Walton addressed to Mrs Saville (im not quite sure who she is, I need to revise the book properly).