Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

AQA Texts for English Literature AS Level - advice please! Watch

ReputationRep:
    I'm studying AQA AS Level English Literature and my topic is Victorian literature - I've read as many books/plays/poems and tried to memorise useful quotes from them, but I struggle with some genres, for example, I find Victorian poems easier to find and remember than drama. Has anyone got any advice/studied this specification? Also, do you think it would be okay to just reference one or two titles from each reading genre (poetry, prose and drama) or should I learn more?

ReputationRep:
    Just make sure you have several examples of poetry, drama and prose under the different aspects of Victorian life. It can be really hard to find Victorian drama because it was the age of the novel, so I really do sympathise. Here are some suggestions:

Drama
    A Woman of no Importance (Wilde) - women's rights, the poor/self-help
    Mrs Warren's Profession (G.B. Shaw) - "
    A Doll's House

Because there is so little in the way of drama, and what there is of it focuses mostly on women's rights, I would use prose and poetry to the best of my advantage thematically but try to bring in drama as much as possible in terms of form, structure and language. It isn't ideal but everyone's in the same boat, so the examiners are bound to be leniant. I made a very trite comparision to AWONI last year and that was that for my drama wider reading, and I managed to get an A, so that just shows they're quite generous.

Have a lot of context up your sleeve to wow them with.