Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

I have missed tutorials, what should I do? (Desperately need advice) Watch

ReputationRep:
    I am an international student. I started the second year of my degree this year.

I have not adjusted well to uni life. I didn't go to most of my tutorials in the first year either, but i managed to pass everything by attending lectures and using material on webct. I have not made any friends or have anyone to hang out with because i basically avoided social situations. i have developed a slight phobia of being in social situations because of this. It makes me really uncomfortable to be around a lot of people and has even given me facial twitches a few times. Even though i have always been shy, i have never had twiches and I don't know whether i should laugh about it or be upset...
    Anyhow I missed, deliberately, most of my tutorials and I don't know if I can pass my second year exams by working on my own. I actually do want to go to my tutorials because once i go a few times, the social phobia decreases and I feel more confident about the course material and i feel good that I am attending. When I don't go, I feel depressed and guilty and constantly worried about whether the uni is going to kick me out or worrying about how I am going to pass my exams and how much I am betraying my parents..
    Should I just show up unannounced to my tutorials 2 weeks before the term ends, having missed almost all of the term? Or should I contact someone at uni and say i have had a stressful time and missed tutorials and need help catching up? OR should I just try to do the jan exams on my own and start going to tutorials next term?
    I would really appreciate any advice. I don't have anywhere else to turn to for it.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by usern)
    I am an international student. I started the second year of my degree this year.