Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I am studying Spanish for A2 at the moment, and I am really struggling to remember all the tenses and their uses! Can anyone help me, or know any good tips for learning them? My teacher is really useless at covering grammar ! E.g Conditional, Pluperfect, Perfect....and then the subjunctive mood!

Muchas Gracias!!

ReputationRep:
    Lol. Not asking for much then :rolleyes:

Preterite is for a finite, definite point in time. I did something once, A hundred years ago the world WAS different.

I did it that one time, even if I did it many times, I'm only referring to what I did that ONE time. Although the world was different for a while, for years, and was a constant thing, it was, and now it isn't, it began in the past, it ended in the past, it has no effect on the present.

Imperfect is used for an action that went on for a period of time or was habitual i.e. "I used to..."

So for example, two sentences.

Cuando Alice estaba volviendo a casa, vio a su ex. "When Alice was going home, she saw her ex" which implies DURING the action of going home, she saw her ex-boyfriend.

WHEREAS Cuando Alice volvió a casa, vio a su ex means something completely different.

It means that once she had got home, then she saw her ex, which would be a bit weird because it implies her ex was in her house because she'd already got home.

Jugué al fútbol = I played football (in the past, at least once, I did, I may or may not now)

Jugaba al fútbol = I used to play football on more than one occasion, although I did it in the past, it doesn't mean I don't still do it, but I'm just saying I did habitually play football.)

Past perfect:

haber + past participle

translates usually as "I have eaten/done/said"

Something that started in the past, but still has an effect/carries onto the present.