Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    My parents are both civil servants, earning a comfy amount, but we're not fantastically well off.

I'm a Welsh student, going to study Midwifery 2011 at BCU where I'll (obviously) be living in. (Bit of a trek from Wales ).

I've just been researching student loans etc online and am a bit confused - will I be entitled to a loan doing my course?

I understand I may not be entitled to a bursary depending on my parents income, and I don't have to pay tuition fees.

Would anyone have any advice? Anyone been on this course before, what financial help did you get?

Thanks in advance!

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Goody2Shoes-x)
    My parents are both civil servants, earning a comfy amount, but we're not fantastically well off.

I'm a Welsh student, going to study Midwifery 2011 at BCU where I'll (obviously) be living in. (Bit of a trek from Wales ).

I've just been researching student loans etc online and am a bit confused - will I be entitled to a loan doing my course?

I understand I may not be entitled to a bursary depending on my parents income, and I don't have to pay tuition fees.

Would anyone have any advice? Anyone been on this course before, what financial help did you get?

Thanks in advance!
    As Midwifery at BCU is a degree programme you will be entitled to the following:
    • The minimum reduced student loan (which you have to pay back) = £3234
    • A means-tested NHS bursary (which you DON'T pay back) = depends on parents income
    • Tuition fees are automatically paid by the NHS

The student loan and NHS bursary must be applied for. Unfortunately NHS students are not eligible for the Student Finance maintenance grant or any university offered bursaries.

Hope that helps.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by PhoenixFortune)
    As Midwifery at BCU is a degree programme you will be entitled to the following: