Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

What's the best workout on the treadmill? Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hiya, I'm a newbie in the gym and I was just wondering what is the recommended amount of time to spend on a treadmill and how to gain the best routine (if that makes sense!). I'm 19, female, and I weigh 61.5kg, and I wanna lose my tummy fat as the rest of me is quite slim! Should I also use the cycles? Yesterday I started off at a slow speed on the treadmill for about 10 mins, the faster speed for 20 mins, and for the last mins I slowed the speed down to relax. Also, I only plan to go once/twice a week, so not an intense workout every other day please! Thank you

ReputationRep:
    Do HIIT, and don't do it on a treadmill unless you have to

Do weights at the gym

ReputationRep:
    Just as a question, why do you only plan to do it once or twice a week? An intense workout every other day will give you better results for sure.

But, what you're doing sounds fine, just make sure over time you increase length of running/speed, and all will be good.

ReputationRep:
    I'm doing once/twice a week because I travel to uni everyday (asian parents!) so the only time I get free during my lectures is that free time for an hour or two but I do plan to increase the speed/workout time as I get used to exercise, just wanted to make sure it was effective as one of my friends said I was doing it wrong!

ReputationRep:
    The better way to do it, especially since you have limited time is a 5 minute slow warm up and then alternate between 40 seconds very fast(sprinting) and 80 seconds slow(slow jog or brisk walk)... Do that for about 15 minutes and you should be completely knackered, if you're not then your psritns aren't fast enough...

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by MHorman)