The Student Room Group
Student in the Laboratory, Lancaster University
Lancaster University
Lancaster
Visit website

Maths students advice needed

I'm trying to get a feel for how good maths is at various unis. Could any maths students please give me their opinions on the maths course at Lancaster? How are the lecturers? Do you get enough support etc? Also, does anyone know whether there are interviews for maths? I can't seem to find any mention of them on the website.

Thanks a lot.
Original post by SuperNinja09
I'm trying to get a feel for how good maths is at various unis. Could any maths students please give me their opinions on the maths course at Lancaster? How are the lecturers? Do you get enough support etc? Also, does anyone know whether there are interviews for maths? I can't seem to find any mention of them on the website.

Thanks a lot.

I'm currently a first year student doing Maths & Stats (although for the first year every maths course is identical) so I feel qualified to answer your questions. There may be a 2nd or 3rd year maths student here who can give you an opinion on more lecturers than I can but I havn't come across any on here yet.

Personally, I love it, both the University and the course, but anyway, I'll go through your questions now.

How are the lecturers? - Well I've only had 3 different lecturers so far. Gordon Blower, Niels Laustsen and Alexander Belton. All of them are good, Gordon is probably the worst of the three, not due to a lack of knowledge, just he seems the least comfortable during the lectures whereas the other two just engage the students more and seem better with people and so more suited to lecturing, but Gordon isn't bad by any stretch of the imagination.