Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Right, I've decided I'm going to get a net-book to supplement my desktop when I'm in university. I'm not technologically illiterate so don't advise me on anything else. I'm new to the net-book world so would like a point in the right direction, some models to look into or possibly some review sites.

I'll be using it to browse the net, use office, study on the train/at home/girlfriends, lecture notes and e-books. As well as having some music and ferrying files back and forth. I won't be going near games on it, apart from possibly trying (and failing) to play WoW on it or some other bog standard game like HoN. My desktop is for gaming and that's how it will stay.

With regards to models, this is what I'm after.
    • Portability - I'd say this is covered fairly well with it being a net-book
    • Battery life - At least four hours. I'd say this is fairly reasonable
    • Largish screen - I'm used to my monitor at home, I'm also going to be using it as an e-book reader with anatomy diagrams with semi-intricate details.
    • Nice keyboard - I'll be writing a lot on it during lectures, this is a must. Preferably a quiet one although I'm not sure how available this is.
    • Price - No more than £350

Any other questions to clarify ask, any help is also greatly appreciated.

ReputationRep:
    Ive been looking at this at the moment

http://www.ebuyer.com/product/186601 - at £267.76

Although it is running a N270 proccessor which is the standard 1.6ghz atom processor but the battery life is roughly 4 hours, newer models last around 6- 10 but it has 3 difference from standard netbooks.

1) RAM is upgradable, it has 1GB soldered on and you can add a extra 2GB of RAM so 3GB in total
    2) Nvidia ION graphics, it can run 720p videos without any problems as well as decent for light gaming which most netbooks arent