Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi, I have made another thread about Politics MA but am also considering my options and just wanted to enquire about a law conversion course. Again, I know there is info in other places on the website, but would greatly appreciate any responses tailored to my questions.

I have got a 2'1 history degree from Leeds uni and am considering a law conversion course, but know little about it and some of the info can be quite confusing.
    I believe getting on the conversion course is quite easy, but quite expensive. Do most people self-fund this stage or get sponsored by law firms? I am worried if I self-funded then I would already start far behind others who already have a law firm helping with their fees???
    I then understand you apply for a further study and a training contract. Realistically, just how easy is it to get one (especially considering I have little work experience)?? What happens if you don't get one?? Is it just the big London firms who hand them out or smaller firms across the country?? Does not getting one make becoming a solicitor very difficult and in a sense make the previous year redundant?
    When choosing a law conversion course, which ones are looked on most favourably by employers and have the best reputation, and what is their application criteria like?? I am keen not to go to London due to high rent costs!
    Also I understand the 1 year is a very hard, intense year. Should my 2'1 in history (68 grade, 1st in dissertation etc) give me the confidence to believe I can pass it as I know a girl who found it too difficult and dropped out.

Greatly appreciate all and any help on this subject, or links to relevant pages!

ReputationRep: