Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

What to do if you've applied for a course but changed your mind? Watch

ReputationRep:
    Basically I've applied for straight Physics degree. I really enjoyed AS physics because it was all stuff I've covered at GCSE just in more depth. And it was very logical for me and made sense and so I really enjoy it. (AS topics were mechanics, materials, optics, electricity and quantum phenomena with the last two being my least favourite).

Anyhow I picked up AS Further Maths with the modules Further Pure 1, Mechanics 1 and Mechanics 2. I've come to the conclusion that I really like mechanics problems, because I can visualise or understand what the problem I'm trying to solve is.

Also I've been to 3 Physics Open days, and todays one really hit it home that Physics is very practical based and all the concepts at university are new. Now I'm not that good at experimental work and definitely don't enjoy it unless its mechanics because then I can understand whats happening. And A2 physics has a lot of new concepts which I haven't enjoyed or enjoyed because they aren't intuitive.

So I've just realised that possibly mechanical engineering is something I should consider. It takes problems and puts a lot of detail into it, but its something I can relate to and understand. And also I would prefer the practical work if there was any. My question for any physicists / engineers is am I jumping to conclusions because I haven't given these new topics in physics a chance. And to anyone thats changed courses or now of people that have changed courses, how did they do it and whens the best time to do it etc? Any advice is much appreciated!
    • TSR Support Team

ReputationRep:
    TSR Support Team
    I don't know what's in "further maths mechanics 1 and 2" so I can't really say whether, based on the fact that you like those modules, you'll enjoy mechanical engineering.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Smack)