Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Advice for buying Free Weights Watch

ReputationRep:
    Looking to buy some free weights. Ideally I want weights to work my arms. (Tricep bar?)

If I could have one larger bar that would fit for bigger weights to purchase in the future i.e. for deadlifts..

If the weights looked good that would be better as well. I know looks aren't important for weights but my last one's ended up crumbling -- and I want these wants to sit around the house.

I don't really know where to buy and what to get, so any advice would be appreciated.

ReputationRep:
    Personally I would reccomend anything by YORK.

I started lifting weights about 9 months to a year ago. At first I bought some cheap-n-cheerful weights but had to take them back as the spinlock collars hadn't been made properly and didn't screw on. Following that I got some YORK weights which I have had since and have had no problems with.

Hope this is helpful to you

ReputationRep:
    Argos has some cheap ones. Check out some local ex-catalogue shops too.

ReputationRep:
    Recently started and bought.

Bodypower - 105Kg TRI-GRIP Olympic Weight Set

149.99, from fitness superstore.

Basically, if you want them to last then may as well do it properly. Full size bar (you need the space though) and 105kg of decent weights should keep you happy for a while.

Might not be what you are after though. Smash some google searches and read read read and learn what it is you want. That's what i bought anyway.

ReputationRep:
    Take a look on ebay, weights command a premium new but if you're willing to drive and pick some up you can get some great deals .

ReputationRep:
    Unless you're also going to buy a bench and a cage (and therefore spend up to £1000), you're wasting your money. Just get a gym membership.

ReputationRep:
    http://www.fitness-superstore.co.uk/...mpaign=Froogle