Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi everyone,

So basically I've gotten skinnier and more shapeless since I started Uni, but now I'm just settling back into eating properly, as I want curves back! However, I obviously want to tone up as I'm doing it - I don't want to get all flabby and put weight on in the wrong places (and yes, you can put weight on in the wrong places. Ever since I've been less active I've put on weight on my stomach but before I was putting it on on my thighs and arms). I've bought Kim Kardashians work out DVDs and 2 x 2kg dumbells. Do you think these would be suitable for basic toning up exercises? Should I go a size bigger? I'm a total beginner though, so I think I should start small.

Thanks!

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by BoxesAndBangles)
    Hi everyone,

So basically I've gotten skinnier and more shapeless since I started Uni, but now I'm just settling back into eating properly, as I want curves back! However, I obviously want to tone up as I'm doing it - I don't want to get all flabby and put weight on in the wrong places (and yes, you can put weight on in the wrong places. Ever since I've been less active I've put on weight on my stomach but before I was putting it on on my thighs and arms). I've bought Kim Kardashians work out DVDs and 2 x 2kg dumbells. Do you think these would be suitable for basic toning up exercises? Should I go a size bigger? I'm a total beginner though, so I think I should start small.

Thanks!
    lol no, those fitness dvd's can make a decent cardio session but thats about it. Also get out of the myth of toning and understand that whilst fat can be gained in the wrong places doesnt mean it can be taken selectively from the right places. Unless you're quite weak I am not entirely sure 2kg will be effective. I suggest opting for 5-7kg and finding a simple full body routine which incorporate the dumbells only. Do this alongside the workout dvd