Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    hi there
    so i really think that a career in the army is for me.
    i am currently in my 2nd year of a degree in veterinary medicine, and i applied this year to join the OTC.
    I passed the selection day and went for the enlistment day thingy and filled out LOADS of forms, only to then have my medical and get turned away because i was slightly under weight (and apparently the doctor that day was being really strict and later got told off by the rsm!). GUTTED

the thing is i can still apply for the veterinary/medical bursary and try again next year, which i really want to do, but i dont see much point in wasting my time and getting my hopes up again if i will just fail the medical again.

this is my problem:
    in my last year of school i had a 'difficult' time and ended up getting myself anorexia etc... fortunately i wasnt living in the UK at the time (though i am british) so technically i have never received Inpatient treatment in the uk. BUT i still was getting treatment in my first year, and i got a bone density scan while i have been in the uk, and unfortunately it did show up with osteoporosis levels of bone loss but i was told that if i got my weight up and got my periods back etc... it could be reversed within a year or two.

i was doing ems this summer and lost weight while milking cows hence was temporarily slightly under my healthy bmi when i went for the medical. after a few weeks of 'recovery' from work experience i soon got my weight back up.

do you think if i am at a healthy weight next year i will have a chance of getting in??? also as long as i dont declare having anything suspicious on my medical forms is it possible for them to find out??? it REALLY is all behind me now and i just really want to get on with my life.

thanks for your help
    sorry for such a long post!
    xx

ReputationRep: