The Student Room Group

Veterinary Nursing Help

Hi,

I'm really interested in becoming a veterinary nurse - however I've already done a degree (in English). I realise now that I went in the wrong directing and want to get back on track.

My problem is that I don't have any experience in working with animals - although I have always had pets. I am guessing I would need this experience for anyone to accept me at a training practice to study to be a RVN.

What routes have other people taken to get a place with a training practice?

Will they be less likely to consider me as I have an irrelevant degree??

Does anyone know of anywhere that takes on volunteers in Manchester?

Any advice would be great!!

Thanks,

Rosey B
Original post by roseyb
Hi,

I'm really interested in becoming a veterinary nurse - however I've already done a degree (in English). I realise now that I went in the wrong directing and want to get back on track.

My problem is that I don't have any experience in working with animals - although I have always had pets. I am guessing I would need this experience for anyone to accept me at a training practice to study to be a RVN.

What routes have other people taken to get a place with a training practice?

Will they be less likely to consider me as I have an irrelevant degree??

Does anyone know of anywhere that takes on volunteers in Manchester?

Any advice would be great!!

Thanks,

Rosey B