Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

The actual Indian accent Watch

ReputationRep:
    Well guys..this is the actual Indian accent
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GdkXIHNbEvY

ReputationRep:
    I'll be honest, when you put on a "fake" Indian accent, it doesn't sound any different to your normal one.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by n1r4v)
    I'll be honest, when you put on a "fake" Indian accent, it doesn't sound any different to your normal one.
    yeah cos I'm not too good at putting on a 'fake' indian accent....cos I talk normally.

ReputationRep:
    I really don't mean to offend you or anything but I think I have to agree with what is said above.
    There really isn't that much of a difference between your 'normal' and 'fake' accent. One might be a bit stronger but that's about it.

Your vocal tract is set to the language you acquire from birth and it is really difficult to change that especially when languages are so different. Most people who are born in India and come to the UK will always keep that Indian touch, there is not much you can do about it, nor is there anything wrong with it. That's just the way it goes.

(Original post by varunjog)
    yeah cos I'm not too good at putting on a 'fake' indian accent....cos I talk normally.
    Then why make a YouTube video about YOU proving that Indians in fact don't speak like we think they do and put it on the student room? I can promise you, the majority of TSR won't take this well ^^

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Pop_tart)
    I really don't mean to offend you or anything but I think I have to agree with what is said above.
    There really isn't that much of a difference between your 'normal' and 'fake' accent. One might be a bit stronger but that's about it.