Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

Television has ruined this country and made people dumb. watch

Announcements

ReputationRep:
    Don't you think?

ReputationRep:
    If by "television" you mean reality TV then yes, very much so.

ReputationRep:
    QUOTE=bewafa;28887906]Don't you think?[/QUOTE]

i think "feck off" would be an appropriate response to this.

(father ted incase you dont get it)

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by JackWoot)
    When Big Brother first aired, I asked a colleague (I was an intern), jokingly, whether he was going to watch it. He just looked at me sternly and said "don't insult my intelligence".

:sigh: this used to be a great country....

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by JackWoot)
    I mean the invention of the television and all the crap shows that come with it.

ReputationRep:

It's just a bit of fun

I think people have made [popular] television dumb. The desire for ratings has led to programmes that do not allow, or sometimes even discourage any sort of thought or consideration.

ReputationRep:
    Interesting thought.

I'm inclined to say that technology increasingly makes people lazy, which then leads to not working so hard at things and then intelligence goes down. A decade ago I wouldn't be sitting in bed with a laptop on TSR; I'd probably be reading a book, which, in general, I'd say is more likely to expand my knowledge base.

I wouldn't say intelligence is going down, as I believe people still retain the ability to perform particular tasks, but it's perhaps true that people of today should know more than they should.

I dunno, it's late

ReputationRep:
    Some television programmes are excellent, educational and artistic. Some are not.

As with everything.

Television doesn't make people dumb, people make themselves dumb through their choices.

ReputationRep:
    I would simply contend that people have and will always be dumb.

ReputationRep: