Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

I'm an undergraduated student of physics from Berlin. At the moment I'm studying abroad in Paris for a year.
    After I finished my BSc I want to do a masters in southern England.

I've read in this Forum to get a picture of the whole masters-culture in UK and I've gained some impressions. I'll describe it, hoping that you will confirm or revise it:
    1) Doing a master degree isn't the normal way of finishing someones academic education. A Bachelor degree is enough to get yourself into the job market. Am I right?
    2) In Oxbridge there are thousands of students applying for each university place. Is it like that at other universities, too? Do I have a chance of getting a place at university with 2.1 grades at all?
    3) You can rise your chances for a postgraduate study place if you have work experiance. Is it common to spend several years working between Bachelor and Master?
    4) Universities are absolutely free with their decision of who will get a place at university. Are there facts which raise your chances, except the grades?
    5) Is it common to send your Bachelor thesis with your application for a Masters? How is its importance for the masters place?
    6) There is a chance to begin with the PhD right after the BSc. Is this whats called these MPhil-degrees? I think the odds to get into such programs are lower than for a MSc?

I apologise for eventual mistakes. English isn't my mother language.

ReputationRep:
    I did a Masters in UK more than 15years after my first degree. I live outside UK, so I have been looking at Masters degrees in Germany and other countries. The first thing I noticed is that doing a Masters in Europe is something that is generally done immediately after a first degree. In fact I am amazed by the number of young student PhD I see, that have minimal work experience.