Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Recently I have been thinking of going into investment banking rather than my original plan of accountancy. I don't really know if I'm studying the right subjects or have good enough grades for it.

My GCSE's were 2 A*, 4 A, 4 B including A* in maths.
    I don't however have a modern language (not sure whether this is important - let me know if it is and how I could go about learning one now).

Im currently studying maths, further maths, physics and chemistry - are these good subjects for investment banking (My school doesn't offer economics - is this necessary?)

Also would a degree in pure mathematics or maths with physics be ok? Don't know whether I can do maths with economics without an economics a level.

I know these am i good enough threads are annoying but I really don't know thanks.

ReputationRep:
    The GCSE grades are fairly average given the field you're pursuing and the competition you'll face from a vast amount of Oxbridge graduates with a string of A*s. You're studying the same A-level subjects as me and they happen to be a fantastic combination if a bit quantitative. Investment bankers come from a variety of background, from arts and humanities majors to physics PhDs; so I don't think your options are disadvantageous for IB.

To answer your question, Economics at A-level is not at all necessary, and many universities e.g. LSE prefer you to have Maths and Further Maths rather than Economics as they better prepare you for university Economics. I'd argue a Maths degree is the ideal route to IB. In short, you have a good chance but a solid set of A-levels would put you in good stead regardless of where you go to university.

ReputationRep:
    Quite simple, do well in your A-Levels, go to a target university, do extra curricular activities that show skills relevant to IB, apply your ass off to internships, hassle any contacts you may have for work experience.