Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Your Favourite Jazz Musician Watch

ReputationRep:
    Okay, eponymous as it is, what is your favourite jazz musician? I was hoping to gain a greater scope of Jazz as I enjoy it, and I'm slowly but surely getting into it more. I've listened to lots of Wes Montgomery, Hussein Boon and Martin Taylor, just from what I've bought from a local record store, but obviously there's a lot of the classics I'm missing. So who's your number one jazzest? Sorry if I'm taking advantage of your opinion :P

ReputationRep:
    No replies :'(

I'm not a jazz expert at all, but I like Bill Evans, Thelonius Monk, Keith Tippett and John McLaughlin (more fusion, but who carez )
    If forays into jazz rock are permitted, then any of the late 60s/early 70s Canterbury bands is big delite for me: Soft machine, egg, caravan etc.

ReputationRep:
    Bill Evans. Blue in Green

ReputationRep:
    Charlie Parker and Miles Davis <3

ReputationRep:
    Billy "No Meter" Cobham.

ReputationRep:
    Nat King Cole.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Jarlsberg)
    Okay, eponymous as it is, what is your favourite jazz musician? I was hoping to gain a greater scope of Jazz as I enjoy it, and I'm slowly but surely getting into it more. I've listened to lots of Wes Montgomery, Hussein Boon and Martin Taylor, just from what I've bought from a local record store, but obviously there's a lot of the classics I'm missing. So who's your number one jazzest? Sorry if I'm taking advantage of your opinion :P
    The usual suspects. Duke Ellington (the Money Jungle cut was one of his best in my opinion), Charlie Parker and Miles Davis (I would've been interested to see where he went from the 90s with the rap fusion he was taking up). If you want more modern greats, take a look at the Japanese jazz scene where they're doing quite a lot of experimental stuff and the bands are as tight as ****.