Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi there everyone, hope this is the right forum to put this in!

On Monday I received an offer for a 12-month placement based in Sheffield from next August. Being eager I'm already thinking ahead for accommodation :P

I have never lived in the city before and I must now start looking for a small but nice flat in a reasonably nice area.

What are the nice areas of Sheffield and where should I avoid? I guess my budget would be between £400 and £500 per month, and the office I would be working at is in the Nether Edge/Heeley area. Is this area quite nice? Please excuse my ignorance as I have little or no knowledge of the specifics of each area of the city!

I'm not looking for leafy suburbs as such just somewhere nice and pleasant and friendly with good local amenities within a reasonable distance of the office.

Any sensible guidance would be gratefully appreciated!

ReputationRep:
    Hiya, can you be more specific about the location of your office? Heeley and Nether Edge are in my opinion quite far apart! Nether Edge/Ecclesall Road are nice places to live - quite studenty so plenty of amenities. Are you wanting to live alone or in a shared house? That might be a more affordable option.

ReputationRep:
    Avoid Broomhall (not to be confused with Broomhill), it's an absolute dive.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by fabulous_girl)
    Hiya, can you be more specific about the location of your office? Heeley and Nether Edge are in my opinion quite far apart! Nether Edge/Ecclesall Road are nice places to live - quite studenty so plenty of amenities. Are you wanting to live alone or in a shared house? That might be a more affordable option.
    Next to Meersbrook Park, the nearest main road is A621 Abbeydale Road. On Google Maps the office is right next to the title "Nether Edge" so I assume it's more that area than Heeley!