Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Skiing/Snowboarding - Do you wear a helmet? Watch

ReputationRep:
    Going on my first snowboarding holiday soon, over new year, after a few sessions on the indoor snow ski slope (chill factor manchester) and i've been accquiring some gear for it - jacket, pants, gloves, goggles etc. One thing i've heard mixed opinions on - should I be wearing a helmet? I know as a beginner I should, i'm more likely to make mistakes and injure myself - plus it's just good sense, but out of curiosity, out of you skiers/snowboarders, how many of you wear helmets?

All I can find, opinion wise, is either 'wouldnt be seen dead without one' or 'naw, ive never had an accident in 43534543 years of boarding, dont bother' + the shiny ski equipment brochures have people NOT wearing helmets

I'm going to wear one, but who here actually does when boarding/skiing?

ReputationRep:
    I wear one for ski touring.

ReputationRep:
    Well as a matter of fact i do myself, and i've been snowboarding for about 7 years now. I think of it like; you wear a helmet to go cycling right? well how is snowboarding/skiing any less dangerous? You might think snow is soft, but actually there's plenty of hard compacted stuff and of course icey sections so - is it worth risking brain damage?

On another note, the helmet also keeps your head lovely and warm, better than hats (plus they don't fall off when you crash). And give you a confidence boost! I feel much safer wearing one especially when tackling those black runs!
    So yeah I would recommend wearing them, and tbh you'll find nowadays the majority of people wear them on the slopes too!

ReputationRep:
    When I used to snowboard I wore a helmet

ReputationRep:
    yes
    and all sensible people do

ReputationRep: