Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    This may sound like a stupid question, but i'm doing a piece of work for Economics on linear programming. The last part of the question requires you to introduce a third output, but how can I do this given that there are only 2 axis?

The only linear programming I have done involved only 2 outputs, x and y.. I have no idea how to introduce a third?

ReputationRep:
    What linear programming method are you using? You can have any number of variables in a linear program; you're only restricted by two when you are trying to draw the system on a two-dimensional graph.

Can you provide a bit more info on what you've done so far/what you're trying to do?

ReputationRep:
    We're using Excel & Solver (which i've never used before for this type of thing). This is the question:

In the accompanying EXCEL spreadsheet is an example of linear
    programming with SOLVER already set up. Interpret the x variables as the
    outputs of a company, and the elements of the b vector as the fixed stocks of
    inputs. Interpret the c vector coefficients as the selling prices of the outputs
    and the A matrix coefficients as the input requirements per unit of output –
    see lecture 6 example. Make up new values for each of the coefficients:
    ? change the values in c showing the effects of different selling prices on
    the choice of output levels
    ? change the values in A showing the effects of different technological
    processes and constraints
    ? and change the values in b showing the effects of different input levels
    Solve the programme in each case using SOLVER. Interpret your answers,
    Illustrate your solution graphically using EXCEL.
    ? Introduce an extra constraint and comment on its impact
    ? Introduce an extra output with corresponding price and input-output
    coefficients and comment on how your SOLVER set-up has changed
    (Original post by Planto)