Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

I'm in my second year of college and will be starting training with the Royal Navy in 2011 to become an Officer. I stand to receive £3000 (£1000 per term at college doing my A levels) and I plan to spend most of it as I don't need to save! (I'll be on a wage come Sept with VERY little to spend it on and will receive a lump sum of £5000 when I pass out of training).

I've currently only been going out with my girlfriend for two months, so bare in mind these plans will be around the summer time when we've been going out longer.

Anyway, because I'm joining the Navy and my girlfriend is going to Uni, I realise that some strain will be put on our relationship. Obviously we will do whatever we can to get through it, but the fact remains that free time is VERY limited for me and there will be little time for me to visit her and I really don't want her to be lonely without me at Uni.

So, what I have started thinking about is using some of my money to have a REALLY special weekend with her before I leave - something we will remember for the rest of our lives no matter if we stay together or not.
    I've been thinking about going up to London, perhaps seeing a musical (she loves musicals) and having a romantic meal and subsequently night at The Ritz, or other luxurious hotel.

The price really doesn't bother me. I am very financially secure (I save well, contrary to this post lol) and as I said above, I've got a guaranteed job. The thing that worries me is that it would be too much - too intense for her. Most married couples have not done anything like this and by then, we'd only have been going out for around 9 months.

Do you reckon this is a nice idea, or should I not bother?
    Before anyone says - obviously I am assuming we will still be together. In fact, I'm very confident we will be.

Sorry for the essay