Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

How to cope with my mum's death Watch

My mum died last week. It was completely sudden and unexpected, she was only 48 and not ill. She died of a brain aneurysm.

We spent the day at hospital before being told she was brain dead and having to switch off her life support.

I am 24. The last time I saw her was on my birthday. I'm in my final year at university and also have a part-time job. Although I have told them what has happened and been given time off/coursework deadline extensions, right now I don't know how to cope when life has to go back to normal.

My parents were seperated and though I have my dad and sister still, we aren't that close. Some days it doesn't feel real and I almost feel nothing at all, and feel guilty that I'm not upset. Other days I feel like my world has caved in.

I just don't know how to cope with this or if it will ever get better. I can't believe she's gone and I have to live the rest of my life without her. I live with my boyfriend and though he is being very supportive he can't help me. I just don't know what to do.

ReputationRep:
    time is the best healer in the world.. i know that you just want to sink into depression right now but your mum wouldn't want that. focus hard on finishing uni, and perhaps this awful situation will bring you closer to your family and boyfriend, it can only get better from this point.
    i'm very sorry for your loss
    xoxo

ReputationRep:
    Takes time for it to sink in that not only are they no longer in your present, but they will be absent from your future.

The pain doesn't really go, you just learn to live with it.

We all - hopefully - have to out live our parents at some point. Life must go on.

ReputationRep: