Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hello there,

I've just finished my fourth year prelims for Standard Grade/Int. 2 and I'm looking at my Higher subject options. Basically we're all expected to take five subjects as standard, however, there are some vague options about taking crashes and supplementary subjects outside of the standard column arrangement.

Would it be possible for me to take an exam for a subject if I self-teach myself at home without class time during school? In theory this would be the best option for me but I have no idea about the dreaded SQA and their policies.

If it's any interest to you, I'm thinking about taking Maths, English, Chemistry, Physics, Computer Studies and perhaps a crash higher in Economics or Biology. If I was allowed to be examined for a self-taught subject I'd imagine it would be Biology as my twin has already completed the standard grade course so will have all his notes and we'd both be taking it in S5 so we could study together!

Any feedback is greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Oliver

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Habitué)
    Would it be possible for me to take an exam for a subject if I self-teach myself at home without class time during school? In theory this would be the best option for me but I have no idea about the dreaded SQA and their policies.
    I'm sure it's been done before. As long as your school is okay with the situation, remember you'll need to complete all three NABs for the subject and it might be worth asking if they'll let you sit a prelim.

If it's any interest to you, I'm thinking about taking Maths, English, Chemistry, Physics, Computing and perhaps a crash higher in Economics or Biology. If I was allowed to be examined for a self-taught subject I'd imagine it would be Biology as my twin has already completed the standard grade course so will have all his notes and we'd both be taking it in S5 so we could study together!