Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    hi. im currently in my last year of secondary education and the subjects i'm studing are -

maths
    english
    single award science
    re
    learnig for life and work
    these were compulsary

contruction
    geography
    business studies
    pe
    these were my options

i relly regret picking some of these subjects as i picked them without much thought and wasn't giving much advice at the time.

im really worried because i dont do double award science, a modern language and ICT, as i think these are very useful subjects to have studied in these modern times.
    could anyone give me any advice on what i should do and tell me will i have less career/higher education prospects due to the GCSE'S i'm currently studing?

ReputationRep:
    they wont effect your career prospects massivley, universitys barely look at GCSES unless everything else between you and another candidate is the same except GCSES might be the decider.
    However, even in that situation they look more at the grades. Yes a modern langauge would have been good as some unis do want if for specific courses, like History at Warwick. But on the whole, its more about the grades you get. Your alevels are way more important then GCSES. Just focus on the grades, if you got all A* and A's then your sorted.

ReputationRep:
    An IT would've been good - where I am, all the colleges make you do IT if you didn't do it in secondary school

ReputationRep:
    thanks guys, im really regretting some of these choice and hoping that that will not hinder what i do futher down the line
    • PS Helper

ReputationRep:
    what do you want to do at A level? (have you thought about uni yet?)