Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Does anyone know any retail banks that offer loans for graduates with a secured job for the future but who are currently out of work?

I graduated from Uni in June and have since been accepted onto a Grad scheme at a BB in front office starting in Aug 2011. I'm looking to go travelling for the next 6 months, but am short of cash. The problem is I'm paid the sign on fee in my first month's salary and my bank say they cannot offer me a loan now as I'm basically u/e. I'd appreciate if anyone could lead me in the right direction. Thanks!

ReputationRep:
    I don't imagine "I've got a job next year" holds any sway with banks unfortunately.

Get a job for the $$ and then go travelling.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by jimmynicol)
    Does anyone know any retail banks that offer loans for graduates with a secured job for the future but who are currently out of work?

I graduated from Uni in June and have since been accepted onto a Grad scheme at a BB in front office starting in Aug 2011. I'm looking to go travelling for the next 6 months, but am short of cash. The problem is I'm paid the sign on fee in my first month's salary and my bank say they cannot offer me a loan now as I'm basically u/e. I'd appreciate if anyone could lead me in the right direction. Thanks!
    Ask the bank that you're holding an offer with.

My friend was in the same position and the bank he was going to work for were happy to give him an advance on his sign on, i.e. a loan against it.

ReputationRep:
    I tried this in the past. Unfortunately my job was with a fund manager rather than an ib with a retail arm, so I couldn't ask my future employer for the money.

I took my contract as well as degree certificate to every bank on the high street, none gave me a loan. It was because the contract was conditional, ie. I could have failed the criminal record check for example.

ReputationRep: