Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I am 24 years old, will become 25 in april, and just started at WestLB in Sao Paulo, in the operations (BO).

I am an undergraduated student (although I studied 4 years at the university of Frankfurt, I did not graduate) and will graduate in 3 years. By then, I will be 27y.

when I was 19y I left Brazil to study in Frankfurt, where supposedly Investment Bankers used to earn more money, but since I never got a chance, even an internship, at an IB, I gave up and came back home.

I think I got this chance at WestLB because of:
    - I can speak german, have international experience and a job at WestLB is not so difficult as at GS, MS, ML, DB...
    - Operation is easier than FO.

Anyway, I intend to fight for a chace in the FO, since I want to work with M&A.
    But I am starting from the bottom of the ladder and I will take sometime until I get a chance. Besides, I do not attend a top university.

Will I be too old to start with M&A (probably as a Junior Analyst) with 27y/28y???
    Will I be too old to get a chance at the FO???

PS: I have a lot of work experience in large companies all over the world, like in the US, Brazil, Germany, Austria and France, but not related to IB.

ReputationRep:
    I'm not 100% on the law surrounding this, but I'm pretty sure employers aren't allowed to discrimate on the basis of age (or gender, ethnicity, sexual identitiy/orientation, religion, or mental/physical disability).

Also 27, really isn't THAT old, I'm sure people have been given FO roles at that age.

ReputationRep:
    I'm not referring to law...

I'm asking about "market driven choices", if firms think that someone in the late 20's and only being a graduate (no MBA nor Masters) is suitable for the job.

ReputationRep:
    Im not an expert but I imagine being that age more of a problem in sales & trading side. So wanting M&A is better in my opinion.