Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    I'm a 2nd year chemistry student and I just can't hack it. I could probably learn the stuff, but I have a heart condition and find it extremely difficult to wake up for my lectures. This means I've fallen behind to the point that I can't catch up. I've pretty much failed.

I don't want to sit the year again because nothing's going to change. Earlier this semester I had a mental breakdown and I feel like I've gone insane. I saw a counsellor and it just didn't help. I feel just like giving up on life tbh. The only thing keeping me going is my girlfriend.

What do I do? Chemistry is my passion, I've worked in labs during my gap year and there's nothing else I want to do. How can I help myself? Are there any other ways of doing my dream job? Thank you so much.

ReputationRep:
    Yo,
    I'm in the same boat.

Don't stress. Just attack a single set of lecture notes, and really get to grips with it. keep doing that, maybe one a day, and as you start to get to grips with the material again, you should find your passion return.

If you're set on quitting uni, think carefully, as you're already 2/3 of the way there. It's meant to get tougher, but then if you persevere you'll be at the end before you know it.

Maybe consult the doctors about your whole sleeping thing, and see if they can give you something.

Finally, its great to have a girlfriend to support you in a bad time, but ultimately, don't become emotionally dependent on her, as it will stress her out too. The decision is ultimately in your hands, and she will most likely support you either way.

Good luck.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Chemistryguy)
    I'm a 2nd year chemistry student and I just can't hack it. I could probably learn the stuff, but I have a heart condition and find it extremely difficult to wake up for my lectures. This means I've fallen behind to the point that I can't catch up. I've pretty much failed.