Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Can I cover my tuition fees if I work part-time? (for Imperial) Watch

ReputationRep:
    I am an international student, specifically from Malaysia. I am from a middle class earning family and I have been offered to study in Imperial College London for the year 2011. (conditional offer of 3 A's for Aerospace materials HJ45).

As an international student, my tuition fees to study in Imperial would cost me almost 140k pounds (including the cost of living), and since I am only suportted by my dad, he is only able to fund me 50k pounds. Which means, I need another 90k pounds to be able to study there.

Just wanted to know whether or not it is possible to fund myself by working there at the same time studying in Imperial? If I actually find a part time job at the Union or at some other place, how much can I earn? To be honest, is the pay even enough to cover my living expenses?

Thanks. Ur assistance is deeply appreciated.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Captain92)
    140k?! How long are you planning to study for?!
    4 years mate.. for international students each year cost 25k pounds at imperial.. and thats just tuition fees

ReputationRep:
    You might struggle. Have you looked into being sponsored by an aeronautical engineering firm?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by neesh123)
    You might struggle. Have you looked into being sponsored by an aeronautical engineering firm?
    yes. I am trying my very best to look for sponsorships, be it full or semi. but in the worst case scenario, i might just have to fund myself. and, that is what i am worries of.

ReputationRep:
    You'd have to be working full time at least to cover that mate.

You could try and get some funding from a racing company in malaysia? F1's pretty big over there and they love aero.
    • PS Reviewer

ReputationRep:
    I don't think you will be able to earn 90K working part time. You need to get some form of sponsorship.