Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hello,

First of all apologies if this has already been covered - please point me to the right thread (despite having a LOT of coffee today, I feel like my brain has started melting)!

I am filling in my GTTR application and in the Education section, it asks to list your "Main Degree Subjects" and then "Other Subjects in Your Degree", with a space to fill in how much time was spent/credits were obtained.

My degree is a BSc Forensic Investigation, from a Scottish University. It covers, roughly, chemistry, biology, physics, engineering, law and psychology. Should I group together all the chemistry modules (despite them having separate names like Organic Chemistry, Chemical Quality Assurance, Practical Scientific Skills etc) under Chemistry and record the time spent/credit obtained for the group, or list them separately? Should I then put psychology and law in the 'Other Subjects in Your Degree' section - I am applying for a PGCE in Science (with Chemistry).

The other question is, do I put down time spent or SCOTCAT points? In the '?' help point on the application, it says to put down the answer as percentage of total time spent, so should I just put it down in hours? Will they know that this is what I mean? As far as I am aware, 1 credit point is worth 10 hours of student effort, so it should be easy enough to calculate... I think!

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Nat

ReputationRep:
    Dont use hours, it has to be in % terms! Figure out how many points made up your degree. Then check how many points each module was worth.

Example