Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Stuck in a moment I can't get out of Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi everyone, i'm relatively new to TSR, so I hope you will give me some good advice on what i'm about to unfold to you all.

I have been in a relationship with my girlfriend for 19 months now. We got along well at the start, and the sex was awesome, we'd speak practically every night on the phone, text each other all the time, etc etc: The 'honeymoon' period one could say.

When we first started dating I said to her that I want to take this relationship one day at a time, as it is my first relationship, and the whole notion of "we'll see how it goes" was understood on both parties and we hit it off from there. She used to ring me at near enough every moment possible (on her break at work, texts before work while i was sleeping, after work, and last thing at night). This went on for a good 6 months, and eventually I got sick of the calls on her break so I told her that I didn't want her to ring me, which was fine. We just spoke at the other times.

I slowly broke away from 'the other times' and a couple of months later we began to speak only at night, which suited me right down to the ground. Our sex life also took a little bit of a dive, from twice a week to barely twice a month.

THEN it began. "I love you". The 3 deadly words. This was a problem to me. Why? I felt she was too far ahead of me in the (natural?) progression of a relationship. I was still at the start - I wanted and now still currently want a 'see how it goes' relationship. I have told her this, and i've told her that I thought she was WAY too far ahead for me, so she said to me that she 'wasn't in love with me as much as she thought'; I partly-believed this, but knew the underlying truth. She was ultimately telling me this because that's what I 'wanted' to hear.