Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    not sure if this is the right place to post.

i'm in my second year at oxford studying biology.

however recently i received a 'preliminary warning' with a date to improve (set collections in 4th week). if i don't improve, i will be set a formal warning.
    i am really nervous about passing these collections, as i also have a lot of other work to do on top, and i'm not sure if i can perform better.

i've been (especially since receiving the warning) thinking that maybe this is not the course or uni for me, in terms of interest as well as ability. i've also been considering biomedical sciences, as that is the aspect of biology i'm most interested in (and i didn't really consider intermediates between biology and medicine before i started.)

an additional problem was that i didn't do very well in my first year (2.2 overall) and obviously with the warning now. if i decided to transfer to biomedical sciences (or another course or even still biology) i would probably start again from first year.
    i'm really worried that my bad uni grades so far will stand against me- even though my A-level/school grades were good and i managed to enter oxford. if i miss this warning too, then i'll be in an even worse position. when applying to uni at first year entry, but from dropping from another uni, do they consider grades from your previous university? also i'm not sure my tutors would give me great references.....
    i'm also unsure that i would regret dropping out of oxford so much, and this thought is really a panic due to the warning.
    i'm worried about if i decided to drop out of oxford, then couldn't get into anywhere else. am i being really stupid to drop this opportunity i have being in oxford, even though i might potentially not do very well here ????