Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    So, I've just recieved the final rejection from my final Graduate scheme application - this one at Marks and Spencers and actually don't have a clue what to do. I'm still in my third year of Uni, predicted a 2:1 in English and the majority of applications I've now been sifting through have all closed.

Quite honestly I only applied to three, I know I should have done more but with Dissertation, essays and seminar work etc I just didn't have the time to spend on any others. And those I did do I spent ages on, just to get rejected

So I'm at a complete loss of what to do now. As I said all Graduate Scheme applications seem to have closed now or very soon and I just really don't want to finish Uni, go back home for the summer and just get really unmotivated because I don't have any work to do. I really wanted something set up to look forward to and get started on at the beginning/end of the summer. Otherwise it feels like this year is just a waste, I mean if I don't join a graduate scheme then what was the point of getting a degree at all.

Eugh, I'm just being depressive I know. But I was wondering if anyone had any advice over what to do now? Or any schemes still open? Or any people who have been in the same situation before and what they did?

The Schemes I applied for were only retail management but it was something I was really quite interested in and feel really knocked back now even though I know tons of people get rejected.

As I said my worries are just that either I'll waste the degree I've spent years doing - by doing something which I don't need it for, or that I'll just get really dejected and unmotivated when I have finished Uni. But where do I go from here, there's nothing I can apply for or sort out now until schemes reopen next year and I don't want to spend the whole year doing nothing. A masters or gap year are out of the question as I just don't have the money.