Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi, I was wondering if I could upgrade my MSc in Management to an MPhil or MRes in Management by taking a couple more modules and or undertaking a dissertation? at a different university to the one I got my MSc from.

N.B. I graduated from a UK University.
    • PS Helper

ReputationRep:
    They are all 'technically' the same 'level' - just in the MSc the qualification is acquired through being taught, and in the MRes the qualification is acquired through writing a thesis/researching.

If you've done an MSc, you should have done a dissertation anyway?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by ak481)
    Hi, I was wondering if I could upgrade my MSc in Management to an MPhil or MRes in Management by taking a couple more modules and or undertaking a dissertation? at a different university to the one I got my MSc from.

N.B. I graduated from a UK University.
    They're all on the same level. MSc and MPhil are pretty much the same in most cases, depending on the university one awards an MSc and one an MPhil.

The MRes is different and serves a different purpose, it teaches you research methods used in management, normally a preparation for a PhD in management. Therefore it's course content is vastly different from MSc courses. Therefore, to get an MRes, you'd have to do the whole thing even if you already have an MSc. For some universities and for some funding (ESRC particularly) you'd have to do the MRes first before you can do a PhD.

Also, unlike the user above me posted, the MRes is also course based and you'd have to write essays on each module as well as a final thesis.