Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hello,
    I am in my first year on a runaway train! I cant stand my course, and i hate being away from home. More than anything I want to withdraw from my course, move back home and commute to a university 20 minutes away on a completely different course. However i am concerned about the financial aspect of withdrawing. I have been told that I will not receive my student loan from the date of my withdrawal, and they may ask for some money back if i have received some of my loan, but I have been informed that i must pay for my accommodation until the end of the year. As my mum is the guarantor i cant just not pay as it will be taken from her account. without my loan i can't afford to pay the £107 per week. What are my options ??

ReputationRep:
    They will only ask back for money say if they pay you for the term and do not go.
    You should be able to find someone to take over your room for a term or two.

Do not fret!

x

ReputationRep:
    Hello,
    I am in my first year on a runaway train! I cant stand my course, and i hate being away from home. More than anything I want to withdraw from my course, move back home and commute to a university 20 minutes away on a completely different course. However i am concerned about the financial aspect of withdrawing. I have been told that I will not receive my student loan from the date of my withdrawal, and they may ask for some money back if i have received some of my loan, but I have been informed that i must pay for my accommodation until the end of the year. As my mum is the guarantor i cant just not pay as it will be taken from her account. What are my options ??

ReputationRep:
    I need the loan for january to pay out the year, but then i wont be at uni for any of those terms, does this mean they will want it back?? x

ReputationRep:
    yes.. if you're not going to uni, they aren't going to give you money for not being there