Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hello

I'm currently studying Advanced Higher Chemistry, and we need to come up with an investigation.

I want to find the concentration of salicylic acid in different fruit, compared to aspirin and I'm just wondering if anyone has ideas of a suitable method?

Oddly, this hasn't been done before at our school and our teacher is demanding a "tried-and-tested" method for it.

Searching online has only shown me that we need an HPLC, which sounds expensive, etc... so that's not very viable.

The problem, I think, is that salicylic acid is only present in small "volumes" compared to the big ones (if we take orange juice) such as citric acid/ascorbic acid. It also has very similar structures and molecular masses to the whole host of other acids present in fruit, which probably means any differentiation through physical properties (solubility, BP etc...) would be too inaccurate. I'm also 'guessing' that they have similar colours which makes colorimetry a pain.

I just need to find a method to extract (or measure the concentration) of only salicyic acid.

BUT finding the concentration of vitamin C in fruit juice is a popular experiment. So surely, I could tweak that method to make it fit salicylic acid?

:ninja: except, I don't know how people find the concentration of ascorbic acid in the first place.

I really really want to do this experiment. I'm honestly interested in it, so any help would be fantastic. I will also rep if you so wish.

Thanks

ReputationRep:
    http://chestofbooks.com/reference/He...ylic-Acid.html

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by spacepirate-James)
    Hello

I'm currently studying Advanced Higher Chemistry, and we need to come up with an investigation.

I want to find the concentration of salicylic acid in different fruit, compared to aspirin and I'm just wondering if anyone has ideas of a suitable method?