Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Help Need good technique for Left reverse around corner Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hello folks

Please help me out in getting a good reference points for left reverse around corner technique ,parallel parking,bay parking.

ReputationRep:
    Hey, I started learning RRC about a month ago, I'll try and explain how my instructor taught me.

First he gets me to park just before the junction that I will reverse into so that I can see if its a tight corner or not. Then drive up to the corner when it is safe.

Put the car into reverse and do all your safety checks before reversing towards the corner. Just before the car starts to pass the corner, stop, and do your safety checks again. My instructor suggested I take my seatbelt off so I can shift my body round more, so not to strain my neck when looking out the rear window.

Once it is safe to start moving again, start reversing slowly looking out the rear window, glancing quickly at the left mirror, and once car starts to move away from the kerb, put full lock on quickly (if it isn't a tight corner then not quite as much as full lock) and keep looking out the rear window. Keep full lock on until as soon as you start to see up the road you are reversing into, where at this point I was told to quickly take quarter lock off.

While also looking out the rear window, keep glancing at the left mirror so you can see how far/parallel to the kerb you are, taking more and more lock off as required, guiding the car slowly into position.

I was having propblems, as I was panicing, thinking I was too wide from the kerb and ended up getting to close to the kerb because I was trying to fix this in a hurry. But my instructor says if you do feel you are too wide, keep moving the car backwards slowly and gently steer it into position.

I hope this helps, I tried to explain it as best as I could lol.

ReputationRep: