Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

Lost Appetite Since Graduating Watch

Announcements

Ever since graduating I have become very depressed. I graduated from a top 40ish University with a first class honours degree in computer science.

I have been for about 6 interviews since then, and I have applied to literally 100s of jobs.

I think that my CV is very good indeed.

It just really annoyed me how much A-Levels are playing a part in my hunt for a job (i got 260 ucas, alot of schemes require atleast 280+).

And recently I have been lazing around the house doing absolutely nothing (including not even applying for jobs anymore).

Im a 5ft 9 guy and used to weigh around 71kg around 6 months ago, and has dropped to 60kg.

I have now started to sleep till about 12pm-1pm everyday, as I have nothing to do in the day, and have completely lost my appetite. I basically eat my dinner only because my mum will get upset. I have to throw away bread and cereal just so she thinks I am eating.

Also, I end up spending most of my day just sitting in the living room, not even watching TV!..i tend to look out of the window every now and then.

I know I should be talking to a professional about this, but is there anything else I can do to stop feeling like this and wasting my days. And has anyone experienced or overcome a similar situation?

thanks in advance for any advice.

ReputationRep:
    The first part of your post suggests to me that you fancy yourself as a bright guy. My suggestion to you would be to live up to it. Wise up -- what's going to happen is going to happen. There's no need to feel as if you're under a lot of pressure. Not everything's going to go smoothly -- lots of people get 100 "no's", but if you keep trying -- with more experience from each interview -- as a mathematician you should recognise that the probability of getting a job will have gone up, and it'll sort itself out.