Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

This is something I've been wondering for a while now. Possibly because its early in the sixth form holidays and I haven't been around friends for a few days. Now by no means am I boring/shy, I'm known to be talkative, funny and I've had a lot of interesting experiences.

But in a relationship that is long term like marriage how the heck do you sustain a conversation for decades. Including a lot of a one on one time like going abroad evenings and things. Surely you tell them everything you know at some point.

ReputationRep:
    you just end up talking about your day at work, people you know, gossiping etc.

its not all about the past. its about the present and future aswel.

ReputationRep:
    Pretty sure couples don't have decades-long conversations, brah

ReputationRep:
    yh thats why you have to look at the character of your bf/gf before dating them instead of just appearance as well.
    I mean they become like a friend after while..
    the excitement decreases but you still want them around you.

Surely that all gets boring after a while.

Also bumping the thread because it took time to get approved.

^^ But they do if there together from late 20s to death.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by JCC-MGS)
    lol this

people aren't Ents

ReputationRep:
    If you end up having nothing to talk about, turn on iChat and get naked. :yes:

ReputationRep:
    Sounds like your relationship is based upon conversation. You need to meet up more, and do things.

Those things, too :sexface:

ReputationRep:
    There will always be conversation. I presume you and your family don't just sit there and stare awkwardly at each other? I know some do, though most find conversation.

Current affairs, what you did today, what our friends and family are up to...there's always stuff to talk about. And if you don't want to talk, watch something on tv or go see a movie or a gig, and then talk about that after.