Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi everyone,

I am in the process of finding a job atm, and a lot of people say that networking can produce a huge impact. Basically, what do you think of it? What are your successful networking stories?

Furthermore, I have tried to approach HRs via LinkedIn asking them to shed some light on their hiring practices, and what should I emphasize in my applications. Sent some 3 inmails there, but recieved no reply

And so I desperately want to know, how do you approach people you don't know with issues like that? Should one even do it?

Would greatly appreciate your help

ReputationRep:
    You need to meet people in person really - go to networking events at your uni that are run by companies that yu are interested in working for - do your research so that you stand out, and chat to the employees afterwards.

I was a waitress for an editor of a major national newspaper and I managed to secure an internship through that.

ReputationRep:
    I was always sure that the employees of the companies that hold networking events know precisely what to say in each and every situation - so that they would basically provide you with the information that is already on the corporate website, nope?

I have been to a couple of such events and seen no one really standing out from a crowd; but if someone does - what are they supposed to do next? How to enhance this position further?

ReputationRep:
    Don't do Linked in unless its an Small Business, Large and Medium Size Businesses will not reply.

Try asking friends and families if they know anyone/where they work.

Try your school/uni network. I randomly found out one of my friends was on an internship @ a bank, I managed to get a 2 week internship via him. and I got invited to their graduate networking event back in August which was really cool. It taught me a lot about networking.