Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hello guys,

Im in my second year at Anglia Ruskin University studying Business Economics and predicted a 1st overall when i graduate, however i was wondering what are my chances of getting into Investment Banking? I'v read on the forum the banks only really look at 'the big 5' so do you honestly think i have any chance?

Many Thanks

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Kyze)
    Hello guys,

Im in my second year at Anglia Ruskin University studying Business Economics and predicted a 1st overall when i graduate, however i was wondering what are my chances of getting into Investment Banking? I'v read on the forum the banks only really look at 'the big 5' so do you honestly think i have any chance?

Many Thanks
    You'll need to do something spectacular.

ReputationRep:
    You have A chance.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Kyze)
    Hello guys,

Many Thanks
    If you want to do it, go for it, but you need to make your application stand out. Get to know people, show you're not 1-dimensional, get some experience prior to applying, if that's possible.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Kyze)
    Hello guys,

Many Thanks
    You can try

But I work for an investment bank, I can tell you your chances are very very slim.

Even if you get a Double First it would be worth less than a 2:1 from Oxbridge or elsewhere.

These days no matter how well written your resume is, it would never get past a filter program most of the big banks use to filter applications. The software will read your resume, it can extract what you have written and match it automatically against what the bank wants. 3000 electronic applications can be processed within 20 mins to pick out the 10 best to interview. There isn't an actual person to read it either.