Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi Guys,

I'm wondering if someone could help me with this question i have. i am currently studying an open university course which i am finding pretty tricky to manage with a full time job. one question i have been stuck on for far to long is this one....

Calculate the stoichiometric dry flue gas analysis for a fuel oil, which has an ultimate analysis of 83% carbon and 17% hydrogen (bymass), when it is burnt with air.

Could someone let know how to do this as the course notes i have and my tutor are extermely unhelpful.

Cheers

Mark

ReputationRep:
    presumably, they want you to come up with an empirical formula. Do you know how to do that from the % C and H ?

ReputationRep:
    sorry, i really am not sure, i guess thats what they are looking for.... i dont know how to do this from the % C and H. im sorry thats not much help but the question is that vague.

ReputationRep:
    ok, if you have the percentage by mass of each element you can derive the empirical forumula of the compound.

You know that 83% of the mass is C and 17% is H. But C atoms are heavier than H atoms, so you have to allow for this (since your empirical formula is the ratios of the number of atoms of each element in a compound).

So, just divide the % by the atomic mass of that element. That number will give you the ratio of each element in the compound (which is the empirical formula)

So try that, and I shall see if I agree with your numbers.

ReputationRep:
    ok, maybe im abit stupid here but how do i know what the atomic mass is of each element?

ReputationRep:
    have you got a periodic table handy? There should be two numbers in the square for each element. The smaller one is the atomic number (the number of protons/electrons) and the larger one is the relative atomic mass. It's that larger one you want.